Wednesday, April 4, 2007

Alumni Update


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. … The American Hockey League announced today the 2006-07 AHL All-Rookie Team, as voted by AHL players and media in each of the league’s 27 member cities.

The team consists of one goaltender, two defensemen and three forwards. Each All-Rookie Team member will receive a custom designed crystal award in recognition of his selection to the 2006-07 AHL All-Rookie Team.

Previous selections to the annual AHL All-Rookie Team include Dan Cloutier (1997), Jean-Sebastien Giguere (1998), Zdeno Chara (1998), Brendan Morrison (1998), Marc Savard (1998), Daniel Briere (1998), J.P. Dumont (1999), Robert Esche (1999), Dan Boyle (1999), Cory Sarich (1999), Dmitri Kalinin (2000), Rico Fata (2000), Jonathan Cheechoo (2001), Barret Jackman (2002), Jason Spezza (2003), Michel Ouellet (2004), Cam Ward (2005), Chris Campoli (2005), Thomas Vanek (2005), Rene Bourque (2005), Brandon Bochenski (2005), Daniel Girardi (2006), Mike Green (2006), Patrick O’Sullivan (2006) and Ryan Shannon (2006).

The players and media have selected none other than NMU's former defenseman Nathan Oystrick to the All-Rookie Team for 2006-07. Oystrick is currently third in scoring among all AHL defensemen (not just rookies) with 14 goals and 30 assists, and a +17 rating. Nathan achieved this while playing in all 75 games for the Wolves. Former University of Denver player Kevin Doell is the only other Wolf to play in all 75 games to date.

As for other alumni playing pro this season, a comprehensive list has been compiled by fans of NMU at

No comments: